Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1133)

CHANGE OF DIRECTORS AND LIST OF DIRECTORS AND THEIR ROLE AND FUNCTION

The Board of Directors (the "**Board**") of Harbin Electric Company Limited (the "**Company**") is pleased to announce that at the Board meeting of the Company (the "**Board Meeting**") convened on 20 March 2017, it was resolved under the authority granted at the 2015 Annual General Meeting that Mr. Zhu Hong-jie and Mr. Hu Jian-min be appointed as the independent non-executive directors of the Company with immediate effect. They will hold office until the conclusion of the next following general meeting of the Company.

Meanwhile, in accordance with the relevant state cadre administration regulation, Mr. Yu Bo ("**Mr. Yu**") resigned from the position of independent non-executive director of the Company, member of audit committee, remuneration committee and nomination committee under the Board with immediate effect.

Mr. Yu confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board, and there is no such matter in relation to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the securities holders of the Company.

The Company would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Yu for his outstanding contribution to the Company and the Board during his tenure as an independent non-executive director of the Company.

Profile of Mr. Zhu Hong-jie ("Mr. Zhu"):

Mr. Zhu Hong-jie, born in July 1954, aged 62, holds a bachelor degree and the title of senior economist, and is currently retired. Mr. Zhu started his career in 1978, and then furthered his studies at the Department of Planning and Statistics, Xiamen University. He has been the General Planning Division Statistics Officer, Deputy Director, Director, Director of Planning and Finance Division (Deputy Secretary) of the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Co-operation, responsible for the establishment of The Export-Import Bank of China. He held various positions at The Export-Import Bank of China, such as head of the Preparatory and Business Team, general manager of the Project Fund Department and chief representative of Shanghai office, general manager of the Vendor Credit Department

(Division I), assistant to the Governor of The Export-Import Bank of China. He has been the Vice Governor, party committee member, deputy secretary of the party committee, secretary of the party committee and principal of party school of The Export-Import Bank of China since 2001, and retired in September 2014. He has been an external director of State Power Investment Corporation since January 2016.

Profile of Mr. Hu Jian-min ("Mr. Hu"):

Mr. Hu Jian-min, born in July 1954, aged 62, holds a bachelor degree and the title of senior engineer, and is currently retired. Mr. Hu started his career in 1974, and then furthered his studies at Shandong Institute of Technology, majoring in power system relay protection and automation. He has been deputy division leader, deputy director and director of Shandong Jining Power Plant (山東濟寧發電廠), deputy head, chief engineer, party committee member and head of Shandong Liaocheng Power Plant (山東聊城發電廠), general manager of Shandong Liaocheng Thermal Power Company Limited (山東聊城熱電有限責任公司), head and secretary of the party committee of Shandong Shiheng Power Plant (山東石橫發電廠), head and secretary of the party committee of Shandong Zouxian Power Plant (山東鄒縣發電 廠), chief engineer of Shandong Electric Power Industry Bureau (Shandong Electric Power Group Corporation), deputy general manager and party leadership group member of Huaneng Power International, Inc., deputy chief engineer and program development manager, assistant to general manager and planning development director of China Huaneng Group, executive director and general manager of Huaneng Hulunbuir Energy Development Co., Ltd.. He has been the chief engineer, deputy general manager, party leadership group member of China Huaneng Group since 2009, and retired in September 2014. He has been an independent director of China First Heavy Industries (a company listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange, stock code: 601106) since May 2015.

The remuneration of each Mr. Zhu and Mr. Hu, determined with reference to the independent non-executive directors' remuneration of companies with comparable business or scale to the Company, would be RMB 60,000 per annum.

Save as stated above, Mr. Zhu and Mr. Hu did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies in Hong Kong or overseas in the past three years, nor they have any other major appointments and professional qualifications. Save as disclosed above, Mr. Zhu and Mr. Hu do not hold any other positions with the Company and other members of the Group.

Save as stated above, Mr. Zhu and Mr. Hu do not have any relationship with any other directors, supervisors, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. Mr. Zhu and Mr. Hu do not have any interests in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong.

In addition, there is no other information relating to Mr. Zhu and Mr. Hu required to be disclosed under Rule 13.51(2)(h) to 13.51(2)(v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. Save as stated above, there is no other matter that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to welcome Mr. Zhu and Mr. Hu to join the Board.

Following the resignation of Mr. Yu and the appointment of Mr. Zhu and Mr. Hu as the independent non-executive directors of the Company, members of the Board of the Company are as follow:

Executive directors: Mr. Si Ze-fu (Chairman), Mr. Wu Wei-zhang, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian, Mr. Song Shi-qi

Independent non-executive directors: Mr. Liu Deng-qing, Mr. Yu Wen-xing, Mr. Zhu Hongjie, Mr. Hu Jian-min

In addition, the re-designation of members of each professional committee under the Board has been approved and decided at the Board Meeting as follow:

- (i) the appointment of Mr. Zhu Hong-jie as a member of audit committee and remuneration committee;
- (ii) the appointment of Mr. Hu Jian-min as a member of strategy development committee and nomination committee.

The membership information of the professional committees on which each Board member serves is as follows:

Committee Director	Strategy Development Committee	Audit Committee	Remuneration Committee	Nomination Committee
Si Ze-fu				chairman
Wu Wei-zhang	chairman			
Zhang Ying-jian	member			
Song Shi-qi			member	
Liu Deng-qing		chairman	member	member
Yu Wen-xing	member	member	chairman	
Zhu Hong-jie		member	member	
Hu Jian-min	member			member

By Order of the Board Harbin Electric Company Limited Ai Li-song Company Secretary

Harbin, PRC 20 March 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Mr. Si Ze-fu, Mr. Wu Wei-zhang, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian and Mr. Song Shi-qi; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Liu Deng-qing, Mr. Yu Wenxing, Mr. Zhu Hong-jie and Mr. Hu Jian-min.