Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 1133)

## APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN OF THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE

Harbin Electric Company Limited (the "Company") announces that the 2011 Annual General Meeting of the Company was held at the Conference Room at the Headquarters, Block B, 39 Sandadongli Road, Xiangfang District, Harbin, Heilongjiang Province, the People's Republic of China on 17 May 2012 at 9:00 a.m. to appoint Mr. Bai Shao-tong as supervisor of the Company. The meeting of Supervisory Committee was held on the same day at 10:00 a.m. to elect Mr. Bai Shao-tong as chairman of the Supervisory Committee of the Company.

The Biographies of Mr. Bai Shao-tong:

**Mr. Bai Shao-tong**, aged 49, born in February 1963, is a graduate of Northeast China Institute of Electric Power holding a bachelor's degree in engineering. He is a senior engineer and a member of the China Communist Party. He was the deputy head and head of the power station department of the Electric Machinery Bureau under the Ministry of Electric Power Industry, manager of the power station equipment department and deputy general manager of 中國華電 電站裝備工程 (集團) 總公司 (China Huadian Power Station Equipment Engineering Group Corporation), deputy general manager and general manager of 中國華電工程 (集團) 公司 (China Huadian Engineering CO., LTD), and general manager of Jiangsu branch of China Huadian Corporation. Mr. Bai has been a standing committee member appointed by the China Communist Party and a secretary of the disciplinary committee of Harbin Electric Corporation and the Company since December 2011. Harbin Electric Corporation is the controlling shareholder of the Company.

Mr. Bai Shao-tong does not have any relationship with any directors, supervisors, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company.

By Order of the Board Harbin Electric Company Limited Liu Zhi-quan Company Secretary

17 May 2012, Harbin, PRC

As at the date of this announcement, the non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Gong Jing-kun, Mr. Zou Lei and Mr. Duan Hong-yi; the executive Directors are Mr. Wu Weizhang and Mr. Shang Zhong-fu; and the independent non-executive directors are Mr. Sun Chang-ji, Mr. Jia Cheng-bing, Ms. Li He-jun, Mr. Yu Bo and Mr. Liu Deng-qing.