Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China) (Stock Code: 1133)

## NOTICE OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

**NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN** that the Annual General Meeting of Harbin Power Equipment Company Limited (the "Company") for the year of 2009 will be held at 17th Floor Meeting Room, Block B, 39 Sandadongli Road, Xiangfang District, Harbin, Heilongjiang Province, the People's Republic of China on Thursday, 3rd June, 2010 at 9:00 a.m. for the following purposes:

## AS ORDINARY BUSINESS

- 1. To consider and approve the Report of the Directors of the Company for the year ended 31st December, 2009;
- 2. To consider and approve the Report of the Supervisory Committee of the Company for the year ended 31st December, 2009;
- 3. To consider and approve the audited accounts and the auditor's report of the Company for the period from 1st January, 2009 to 31st December, 2009;
- 4. To declare the 2009 dividend of Rmb0.068 per share.

## AS SPECIAL BUSINESS

- 5. To authorize the Board of Directors of the Company to appoint any person to fill in a casual vacancy in the Board of Directors or as an additional director, his term of office shall expire at the conclusion of the next general meeting of the Company;
- 6. To authorize the Board of Directors of the Company to determine the appointment of auditors and authorize the Board of Directors of the Company to fix their remuneration.

By order of the Board Ma Sui Company Secretary

Harbin, China, 9th April, 2010

Registered Office of the Company: Block 3, Nangang High Technology Production Base Harbin, Heilongjiang Province People's Republic of China

Office Address of the Company: Block B, No 39 Sandadongli Road, Xiangfang District Harbin, Heilongjiang Province People's Republic of China

## Notes:

- 1. For the purpose of determining the list of shareholders entitled to attend and vote at the Annual General Meeting and the receive of the proposed dividend of the year of 2009 to be declared at that meeting, the Company shall temporarily suspend changes to the register of shareholders from 3rd May, 2010 to 2nd June, 2010 (both days inclusive). Shareholders whose names appear on the register at the time of the suspension of registration shall be entitled to attend and vote at the Annual General Meeting and shall be entitled to receive of the proposed dividend of the year of 2009 (if declared at that General Meeting). Person who purchased shares of the Company during the period of suspension of registration shall not be entitled to attend the Annual General Meeting, nor to the dividend of the year of 2009. In order to qualify for the final dividend for 2009, all transfers documents, accompanied by the relevant share certificates, must be lodged with the Company's Registrar, namely, Hong Kong Registrars Limited at Shops 1712-1716, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong no later than 4:30 p.m., 30th April 2009.
- 2. Shareholders intending to attend the Annual General Meeting shall give written notice of the same to the Company, which shall be lodged at the office address of the Company before 5:00 p.m. on 2nd May, 2010.
- 3. A Shareholder entitled to attend and vote at the Annual General Meeting is entitled to appoint one or more persons (whether or not a shareholder of the Company) as his proxy to attend and vote on behalf of him.
- 4. To be valid, the form of proxy, together with a duly notarized power of attorney or other document of authority, if any, under which the form is signed must be deposited at the office address of the Company not less than 24 hours before the time appointed for holding the Annual General Meeting.

At the date of this announcement, the Executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Gong Jingkun, Mr. Zou Lei, Mr. Duan Hong-yi, Mr. Wu Wei-zhang and Mr. Shang Zhong-fu; and the Independent non-executive Directors are Mr. Sun Chang-ji, Mr. Yu Bo, Mr. Liu Deng-qing, Mr. Jia Cheng-bing and Ms. Li He-jun.